JW Marriott Parq Vancouver Hotel Review, Standard Room, Water View

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver Hotel Review, Standard Room, Water View

By | 2018-09-13T19:13:44+00:00 April 26th, 2018|Hotels, JW Marriott, Trip Reports|
Spread the love

Booking The JW Marriott/Free Night Promotion From The Parq Casino

I decided to tag along with my grandma who received a complimentary room valid for either the JW Marriott or The Douglas Hotel which are both connected to the Parq Casino in Vancouver, BC. The promotion is put on by the Parq Casino and is based on playing habits. I’m not sure what the threshold is to receive one of these free nights, but I do know she has 3 diamonds on her player’s card which is considered the top tier for Encore Rewards, a casino loyalty rewards program run by the British Columbia Lottery Corporation (BCLC).

Free night promo from the Parq Casino for Encore Rewards members.

We booked the room by calling Parq Promotions at 1-888-281-8868, and they passed along our reservation request to the JW Marriott for April 10, 2018.

American Express Platinum Canada

American Express Platinum Card

  • Earn 60,000 bonus points when you spend $5,000 in the first 3 months.

  • Get a $200 travel credit & airport lounge access worldwide.
  • $699 annual fee.

Apply Now!

Using Marriott Rewards For A Free Night At The Parq Casino

Anyone looking for Marriott Rewards redemptions can redeem points at this property (or the Douglas Hotel next door) for 40,000 Marriott Reward points per night. With prices regularly in the $300-$500 range (and probably even higher in the summer), this can be a very good use of points – similar value as Tyler got on his recent visit to the Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel and JW Marriott South Beach Hotel in Singapore.

Marriott recently announced some huge changes coming to the program as of August 1st which will see some new benefits through the end of the year for anyone with Marriott Gold Elite status. As a reminder, Gold Elite status comes complimentary with the American Express Platinum Card or American Express Business Platinum Card, so if you’ve been considering either of those products, act fast! Currently Gold Elites get guaranteed lounge access with breakfast, though between August 1 and December 31, 2018 you’ll also be eligible to receive suite upgrades and more!

Apply Now For The American Express Card and Earn 60,000 Points and Marriott Gold Status as a Welcome Bonus!

Apply now for the American Express Platinum Card and earn Marriott Gold status in addition to 60,000 Membership Reward Points as a welcome bonus

Apply now for the American Express Business Platinum Card and earn Marriott Gold status in addition to 60,000 Membership Reward Points as a welcome bonus

Parking at the Parq Casino

We also received a promotional offer for free parking based on BCLC Encore loyalty status (a $38 savings for a 24-hour period), which we used at the same time. Parking rates at the Parq Casino increase when events are happening at BC Place or Rogers Arena for non-registered guests of the hotel.

Free parking promo too!

Be sure to check with the hotel or casino guest services to see if you can get discounted or complimentary parking if you have an Encore Rewards card. I’ve heard varying success stories based on your loyalty status, so it doesn’t hurt to ask.

I find parking can be a little tricky in Vancouver, so I almost always valet the vehicle, and in some cases that is the only option (such as The Rosewood Hotel Georgia – a stunning property). However, parkade access to the Parq Casino is easily accessible on Smithe Street so we decided to self-park this time around. Valet parking is available for a $7 charge on top of the normal parking rates.

Easy access to valet services and self parking in the parkade at the end of the street.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver Location

The JW Marriott Parq has one of the best locations in Vancouver. Connected to the Parq Casino, you’re just a short elevator ride away from slot machines, table games, and 5 restaurants and 3 lounges.

Entrance to the casino from the hotel elevator.

Having a little fun at the Parq Casino with 112 free spins!

Getting handpaid at the Parq Casino.

And on the other side of the casino is the sister property, The Douglas Vancouver, An Autograph Collection Hotel.

The Douglas Autograph Collection Hotel, also attached to the Parq Casino.

Literally steps away from BC Place, and a short 7 minute walk to Rogers Arena, you can easily take in a show or a game right nextdoor without having to worry about taking a cab or driving to and from the event. You’re also a 15 minute walk away from Science World, and a 5 minute walk away to catch the short ferry ride to Granville Island. Countless restaurants and stores are all within walking distance as well. The location is world class.

BC Place is just steps away from the hotel and casino entrance.

Rogers Arena is just a short 7 minute walk away.

2 Queen Beds, Water View Guest Room

Thanks to my Marriott Rewards Gold Elite Status from my American Express Platinum Card, we received an upgraded room with a water view overlooking False Creek, the Plaza of Nations, Science World, and ferries transporting passengers to and from Granville Island. Despite receiving an upgraded room, we were still adjacent to the ice machine, maintenance rooms (electrical/water/ice), and on the lowest floor – floor 7.

Our room, 706.

Our room was adjacent to the maintenance rooms and ice machine.

In my experience, rooms in these high traffic areas are reserved for discounted rates, or promotions such as this, and come with noisy hallways, and less than perfect fixtures in the room. However, with this hotel being less than a year old, the room was in excellent condition, and there was no bothersome noise coming from the maintenance rooms. Keep in mind, this is a Tuesday night in April (Vancouver’s shoulder season), so it would be interesting to see what the noise level outside the room would be like on a busier night.

7th floor hallway.

7th floor elevators.

Our 2 queen bed guest room had a typical layout for a standard room, and was about 380 sq ft. The closet featured a decent amount of space, with two robes, two sets of slippers, an iron, and an umbrella, which you’ll probably need 8 months out of the year in Vancouver.

2 queen beds, standard room.

Armoire with robes, slippers, ironing board, iron, and umbrella.

One of the drawers on the bottom of the closet/armoire had a safe in it, while the other was empty storage space with some bags for laundry service.

Armoire safe and laundry bags.

The bathroom features a barn style sliding door, with a decent size tiled walk-in shower with removable shower head, and a partitioned area for the toilet.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver standard guest room bathroom.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver standard guest room bathroom.

Partitioned toilet.

Nice walk-in shower.

The hand wash, lotion, body wash, shampoo and conditioner are all made by Molton Brown and are in big bottles. I always like the soaps to be in little bottles so I can take them home (plus it’s more sanitary), but these bigger bottles are available for purchase in the spa.

Molton Brown shampoo, conditioner and body wash.

Molton Brown hand soap and lotion.

There is also a vanity mirror, hairdryer, and some smaller toiletries in one of the decorative boxes.

Towels and hairdryer underneath the bathroom vanity.

Toiletries including mouthwash, vanity kit, cleaning cloth, and shower cap

The workspace is a good size, and has plenty of USB and regular charging ports.

Nice size workspace.

The mini-bar fridge is stocked with a variety of pop, water, and alcoholic beverages.

Well stocked mini bar (sensor fridge)

There are also snacks available to purchase, and a Illy Espresso machine that was quite easy to use.

Snacks for purchase and easy to use illy espresso machine.

illy espresso machine.

Snack price list.

Next to the window is a sitting area with 2 chairs and a small table.

Sitting area overlooking False Creek.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver water view standard guest room. Views of Science World and False Creek.

Water view standard room nighttime scenery.

The nightstands both have USB charging ports and storage space.

Nightstand with USB charging ports and storage space.

Nightstand.

The beds themselves were very comfortable with down pillows.

Comfortable beds with down pillows.

Wi-Fi was included with my Marriott Rewards status, but is $7.95 per day for non-members. I really don’t like this trend of charging for wi-fi, which a lot of luxury hotels seem to be doing lately. Clearly almost everyone is going to use the internet, and it’s just a sneaky up-charge when it should be included in the cost of the room. I pay about $3 a day at home for fiber-optic 250Mbps internet, so for hotels to charge $7.95 per day for 25Mpbs internet is frustrating to see. Rant over.

I did like the option to be able to login to Netflix, YouTube, Hulu and Pandora through the TV. The login process was seamless and I ended up watching Netflix which worked well. I usually end up bringing an HDMI cable to plug my laptop or iPad into the hotel TV, so having this option directly available on the TV was a nice touch.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver standard guest room workspace and TV with Netflix, YouTube, Hulu and Pandora capabilities.

Service at the JW Marriott Hotel in Vancouver, BC

The service from the time we checked-in, until the time we left was exceptional. I always appreciate when the staff is proactive in greeting guests, and setting expectations accordingly. Upon check-in, there was a temporary issue with the booking system/Internet going down. As a result, they couldn’t bring up our confirmation number, and our Marriott Rewards status was not recognized.

We were offered bottled water, and thanked multiple times for our patience while we waited, which only ended up being a few minutes extra. Even though the delay was extremely minor, it could have ended up taking way longer, because you know, sometimes technology doesn’t like to cooperate. Kathleen, the front desk agent, was proactive in communicating there was an issue right away.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver lobby front desk.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver lobby.

Shortly after we got settled, there was a welcome amenity dessert and hand written card sent up to our room from the front office team. A very nice, and unexpected gesture that was much appreciated! Generally, welcome amenities are only provided for Marriott Rewards members with Platinum status.

Welcome amenity dessert with handwritten card from the JW Marriott staff.

JW Marriott Vancouver Hotel Areas For Improvement

One of the things I look forward to most in a hotel is checking out the swimming pool and hot tub. There is certainly plenty of room on the rooftop terrace for a swimming pool with a beautiful view overlooking the city. And with plenty of other luxury hotels in Vancouver with fantastic pools, this is quite the let down.

And I’m not sure why they decided to install such a small hot tub. It certainly doesn’t scream luxury, but at least they can say there is one available, even though it was covered over during our stay. I would say it maybe fits 6 or 7 people comfortably.

Disappointing hot tub for a luxury hotel.

With the frequent rainy weather in Vancouver, it makes more sense for the hot tub to be inside. I can picture guests traipsing out there in the rain only to find that it’s full and then awkwardly standing inside for people to leave. And although there is some seating and lounge chairs on the terrace, there are no covered areas to escape the rain or the sun. Overall, the terrace and hot tub seems like an afterthought.

Rooftop terrace. No covered area?

Another huge let down was that bathtubs are not available in the standard rooms. I feel that should be a standard feature in a luxury hotel, considering even the most basic economy hotels generally have bathtubs.

No swimming pool, no bathtub, and the small hot tub are real oversights for a luxury hotel (or clever planning to get guests down to the casino). I get it. The hotel is connected to the casino, and the goal is to get people to get down there and sink money into a slot machine, but did they have to be that obvious about it? There is however a spa and fitness onsite.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver Fitness Center.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver Spa entrance.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver spa price list.

JW Marriott Vancouver Executive Lounge for Marriott Rewards Members

I’ve decided to split this review into two parts, so you can check out the full review of the JW Marriott Vancouver Executive Lounge here and see if it’s worth the visit!

We received executive lounge access thanks again to my Marriott Rewards Gold Elite Status with my American Express Platinum Card.

JW Marriott Vancouver Hotel Review Bottom Line

Whenever I go to Vancouver for a staycation, I almost always bring my two German Shepherds along for the ride, as there are plenty of luxury pet friendly hotels to choose from in the city, however, the JW Marriott Parq Hotel and The Douglas Hotel are both not pet friendly. Usually this would be a deal breaker for me, but I’m willing to make compromises for a free-night stay at two of the newest luxury hotels in Vancouver available using reward points!

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver Hotel standard water view guest room.

JW Marriott Parq Vancouver Hotel standard water view guest room.

Although I’m really disappointed about there not being a swimming pool and no bathtub in the room, the JW Marriott would be my first choice if I was planning a night out at the Parq Casino or to take in a game or show at Rogers Arena, or BC Place. The location is top notch, the room was spotless, and we received outstanding service from the staff our entire visit.

Apply Now For The American Express Card and Earn 60,000 Points and Marriott Gold Status as a Welcome Bonus!

Apply now for the American Express Platinum Card and earn Marriott Gold status in addition to 60,000 Membership Reward Points as a welcome bonus

Apply now for the American Express Business Platinum Card and earn Marriott Gold status in addition to 60,000 Membership Reward Points as a welcome bonus

What’s Your Review Of The JW Marriott Parq Vancouver Hotel?

Have you stayed at the JW Marriott Parq Vancouver Hotel? Let us know your experience in the comment section below!

American Express Platinum Canada

American Express Platinum Card

  • Earn 60,000 bonus points when you spend $5,000 in the first 3 months.

  • Get a $200 travel credit & airport lounge access worldwide.
  • $699 annual fee.

Apply Now!

About the Author:

With a passion for tech startups, Britt has always loved being hands on with designing and developing websites. When she’s not at the computer, she’s probably enjoying time with her German Shepherds, Trevor and Stacy. From rustic cabins, to five star hotels, Britt is always ready for the next adventure. Want to learn how you can travel the world on points, like Britt? Sign up for an American Express Platinum card and get 60,000 bonus points and a $200 travel credit towards your next dream vacation. (Offer subject to approval and when you spend $5,000 in the first 3 months).

5 Comments

  1. Tyler Weatherup April 26, 2018 at 11:35 am - Reply

    Great review Britt!

    It’s so nice to see new luxury hotels in Vancouver available on points, especially considering all of the extra benefits of elite status with Marriott – something I’ve really come to appreciate.

    I’m not 100% positive, but I think the lack of bathtubs in certain rooms could have something to do with LEED certification (the PARQ development is Gold certified) for environmental friendliness.

    -Tyler

    • Brittany Menard April 26, 2018 at 11:40 am - Reply

      Thanks Tyler!

      Yes, I’m definitely excited to be able to use my points for hotel stays in Vancouver, and can’t wait to check out The Douglas nextdoor very soon for my next points stay.

      That’s interesting to note about the bathtubs in the rooms. Is that why they don’t have a swimming pool either? 😉

      • Tyler Weatherup April 26, 2018 at 11:47 am - Reply

        Probably not… as mentioned in your review, that’s probably so people spend less time swimming and more time gambling.

        I think I saw a couple of pool themed slot machines on the casino floor though….

  2. james April 29, 2018 at 9:27 pm - Reply

    Great review! Vancouver has an amazing hotel offer now…. will consider this next time

    • Brittany Menard April 29, 2018 at 9:50 pm - Reply

      Hi James, thanks for checking out the review, hope you can experience this hotel soon! Let me know your thoughts.

      Thanks, Britt

Leave A Comment